Dinner on Vacation

Daily Prompt: Red Pill, Blue Pill

If you could get all the nutrition you needed in a day with a pill — no worrying about what to eat, no food preparation — would you do it?

Dinner had just arrived. Our table was on the beachfront were we sat on pillows, legs crossed, facing a beautiful ocean sunset. My wife and I were on vacation with two other couples and this was the group’s first dinner. As the waiter put down the last of the food everyone was looking our way. “Are you sure you don’t want anything” the waiter asked before he walked away. “We’re fine, thanks” I replied. Now I was sure the questions would start, and I was right. “Are you guys on a diet?” asked one of the guys. His question seemed genuine since he had been on several diets in the past, trying everything to be more competitive as a triathlete. “Yes,” my wife replied. “We are on a new nutrition plan, one pill provides all the nutrition needed for an entire day,” she said. “All we are required to do is drink water,” I said trying to take some of the attention off of her.

There was a brief silence around the table and no one had started eating. “So, do you like it? The diet that is.” the third guy at the tabled asked, poking his fork into the table and tapping his fingers with his other hand. “The first week was great,” we both said almost in unison, we had talked about this very subject on the plane ride out here. “It was nice during weeks when our schedules were crazy, not having to worry about what’s for dinner is a big relief. It didn’t take long for us to realize that a large part of our culture is based around meals.” I said, pausing to look at my wife. “Lunch meetings, dinner with friends, family dinners where we sat down with the kids and talked about their school day, all that changed.” I continued. “That’s just the beginning,” my wife said. “He didn’t even mention the constant cravings, even though our bodies don’t need the nutrition we miss the experience of flavor, the satisfaction of cooking a meal and hearing someone say how much they love it.” she said as she played with the silverware the waiter had left in front of her. “Now, looking back it’s easy to see that we have been filling our daily lives with more and more busy work. The very thing that was going to give us free time actually seems to have made us busier, we really didn’t know what to do with complete free time. I guess we also hoped that staying busy would help keep our minds from wandering on to all those wonderful flavors we miss so much.”

“Uh-huh” was all I could grunt as I looked at her. She was looking back now and we both knew what was coming next. At least I think we both knew. I was overcome by the steak and shrimp on the table across from me. “Would you like to take my plate to your room” my friend’s wife said with a little chuckle. “I haven’t seen lust like that in a man’s eyes since Brian and I went on our first date.” she said in a full laugh.

“I’ll have what she’s having,” is all I could spit out when the waiter arrived. Although, going back on solid foods while on vacation was probably not a good idea.

3 thoughts on “Dinner on Vacation

  1. Fantastic writing. I think this is a spot on premonition of what would happen if people did decide to take these pills! Very interesting take on the prompt, I loved reading it. Thanks.

  2. Pingback: Red Pill, Blue Pill: You’ve Got To Be Kidding! | Khana's Web

Leave a Reply

