The Toothpaste Again

She did it again; she knows I can’t stand it when she squeezes the toothpaste in the middle. Should I say something? No, I said something yesterday, but she did it again. Maybe I will use it after her and make sure she sees me push it up from the bottom.

We moved in together three weeks ago. I’ve lived on my own my entire adult life; living with someone is more of a challenge than I had anticipated.  It’s not just the toothpaste, its everything, the dishes are in the wrong place, I can never find the TV remotes, my clothes smell different and her underwear are all over the bedroom. I’m a guy; I should be excited about that. Why am I freaking out?

If I could change I would. I have tried to relax, take deep breaths, read funny stories, and take a walk. Does it matter if she squeezes the toothpaste from the middle? I am afraid she will not put up with my nagging much longer. I will change, I have to.

“Beth, thank you for putting up with me, I will get better.”

“Oh, I did the toothpaste thing again, sorry.” She said, I couldn’t tell if she was being serious. “We will find our rhythm, I will get better too.” This time see seemed more sincere.

I took a deep breath; her words calmed me a little. “Yes, you did do the toothpaste thing again,” I said, I couldn’t help myself.

A response to the Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out

13 thoughts on “The Toothpaste Again

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out | writinglikeastoner

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dear John Letter | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Pingback: A Letter To My Inner Critic | Self-Help for Creatively Deprived

  4. I’m guessing she doesn’t say anything to you abot leaving the toilet seat up, either! You probably don’t. Cute post and can completely relate with something that seems so small yet it makes one’s skin crawl! 🙂

  5. Pingback: A jail without windows | Vivir, que no es poco

  6. Pingback: A Letter To An Indecisive Employee | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: WITHOUT YOUR LOVE | hastywords

  8. My husband and I each have our own tube of toothpaste. One problem solved.
    Thanks for enjoying 1950 Suburban Adventures. I’m having fun reading your posts about slices of life.

  9. I did laugh. Because reality hit me in the face, the small little details you have to put up with when living with another person. End up bickering about just any minute thing. But the toothpaste….that´s a new one, a good new one I might add.

Leave a Reply

