Reckless Dreamer, Life’s Lover, with a Hopeless addiction to Pink

“Is this seat taken?” she asked.

“Nope, I will be out of your way as soon as I finish this drink,” he replied.

“Awe, that’s too bad,” she says sliding into the booth across the table. “Stay for one more, it’s on me.”

He looked at her, silent. “You look confused,” she said, noticing the look on his face.

“That’s not an offer I am used to.”

“I’m just looking for an interesting conversation,” she replied, motioning for the waitress.

“Hum,” he grunted.

“What do you do,” she asked as the waitress arrived. “Two of whatever he’s having.” She said to the waitress pointing at his nearly empty drink.

“For work,” she continued as the waitress walked away.”

“Drive space rockets,” he replied.

“What? You mean you’re an astronaut?”

“Nope,” he said, “Next question.”

“Really, Ok, what is your favorite food?”

“Anything that comes in pink, the flavor pink!” he said with a smirk. Moments later the waitress arrived, interrupting the awkward silence. She delivered the two drinks and took his empty glass. He took a long drink finishing nearly half.

“Unicorns,” he said, setting his drink down, “my favorite animals are Unicorns, in case you were wandering. And I don’t think it’s fair that North Korea found the Unicorn layer and nobody else gets to see.”

“Ok, let’s try something a little different.” She said a little disappointed. “What about politics and religion?”

“I don’t trust politicians and I don’t believe in organized religion, but I do believe in a higher power. I have heard it put in basic terms: Live simply laugh often love deeply. That’s how I try to live.”

“What about dreams?” she continued, “any funny stories about dreams,” she didn’t want to lose the forward progress.

“Now we’re getting somewhere.” He said smirking again. “Dreams are fascinating! The fifth happiest day of my life, I guess night in this case, was the night I learned to become lucid in my dreams. I learned to fly that night. I later tired while awake, which I don’t recommend.”

“Wow, I wish I could dream like that.” She admitted. “What was your favorite dream?” she asked, watching him suck down the second half of his beer.

“That is a great question. Shortly after I learned to fly, while dreaming of course, I tested my skills in space. To my surprise I could breathe, I could feel tremendous cold but I was not freezing. I closed my eyes and asked to see the most interesting planet in the universe. When I opened them I could see a planet right in front of me. I landed in a spot that had lush vegetation, the rich green of a rainforest and dense overhead canopy; this planet was so vivid, so real, but the only thing I could focus on was the river. The water was pink, it was flowing like you would expect of any river. I was walking towards it, almost there, desperate to reach out and touch it. That’s as far as I got, I woke up. My five year old twins were prying my eyes open. They were ready for Saturday morning cartoons.”  He said shaking his head as if he wished he could go back. “Look at that, I’m done with my drink. Stay for one, that was the agreement.” He was waving to the waitress, signaling for his check.

“Are you sure, I will gladly get another round, this is definitely an interesting conversation.” She said, looking down, writing on a napkin.

“I’m sure, but if I see you here again it will be my turn to ask questions.”

She handed him the napkin, he read it out loud.

Funny Stories

The man in the corner booth:

Reckless dreamer, life’s lover, with a hopeless addiction to pink

 

This story is my response to today’s Daily Prompt: Tagline

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Reckless Dreamer, Life’s Lover, with a Hopeless addiction to Pink

  1. Pingback: I’m alive | Vivir, que no es poco

  2. Pingback: Blogging Is Like A Flea Market | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Dreamer or Hero | Rjkafwanka

  4. I definitely met someone very much like you (are you a clone?) back in the early 70s. Of course it could have been my perspective at the time. I’ve always had total control in my dreams, makes non-controllers envious.
    I enjoyed your style of writing and dry (wry) sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

