My Happy Money Experiment: Week 2 Review

For those of you that have not seen the first part of this project, My Happy Money Experiment, it’s worth checking out, it will help you understand what is going on here.

I am now at the end of week two, if you remember I finished off week one by finding a twenty-dollar bill. I planned to get the twenty changed into two five-dollar bills and ten ones-dollar bills but that didn’t work out. The place I went to get the twenty changed did not have ten ones. I got four fives and planned to get two of them changed into ones soon.

I prepared the first five-dollar bill the same way I prepared all the ones; I explain this process in the week 1 review. I was really looking forward to giving fives; it just seemed more exciting than giving ones. I thought I may have a hard time giving up slightly larger bills but that was not the problem at all. I kept imagining someone getting the note enriched five-dollar bill and being about to do something with it, granted it would be something small but something. I figured this could really put a little power behind the note. I guess I liked giving the fives enough that I got a little carried away. I gave three fives instead of two. I got the last five changed to ones and I was set for a few more days.

I don’t get out a lot during the week; I go straight to work and straight home. I don’t like dropping happy money at work; I don’t want to be discovered. One day I got home and realized I had not left my daily dollar of happiness. As I walked toward the house I decided to put it under a sign where someone walking his or her dog would see it.

By the time I got in the house I had decided putting the dollar under the sign was a bad idea. It was to close to neighbors that knew me and I didn’t want to have to explain myself, I really think that would be an awkward conversation. I got my dog and headed back out. I tried not to look lost as I picked up the dollar I had put down just minuets before. I set out to find a happier home for this tiny package and finally decided to put it in a dog poo bag dispenser. I was trying to be slick, attempting to place the happy money in a position where it would come out when someone pulled the bag. I ended up jamming the money way to far back, hopefully someone gets it when the roll runs out and has to be changed.  Anyway, I am looking for a way to have a better plan but not make the process to rigid. I still want to be a little spontaneous as I try to spread happiness around.

I came to the end of week 2 and the end of my cash. I have a strange concept going, I don’t want to go to and ATM to deliberately pull out Happy Money. I don’t know why, there is nothing wrong with that I just don’t want to. Anyway, my wife asked me to get dinner and cash back for a school even. I got the cash and we didn’t make it to the school event. There we have it, another weeks worth of happy money! Oh, and one of the dollars got diverted to the tooth fairy.

To sum it up, I am still having a lot of fun with this project and I do not anticipate stopping after my one-month trial.

3 thoughts on “My Happy Money Experiment: Week 2 Review

Leave a Reply

